About the Commission

Parchment and Quill Pen

Morris County Heritage Commission is an advisory body of the Morris County Board of Chosen Freeholders.

On behalf of the Freeholders, the Morris County Heritage Commission facilitates understanding and preservation of Morris County’s diverse history by:

    • Promoting awareness of Morris County’s heritage and acknowledging our cultural diversity through education and appropriate communications such as publications, exhibits, and public programs.
    • Maintaining the Morris County Archives and ensuring their preservation and accessibility.
    • Providing advice and support to local historical and historic preservation groups in Morris County.

The Heritage Commission was created in 1970 pursuant to the state law authorizing county cultural and heritage commissions. Morris is one of two counties in New Jersey with a separate heritage commission. The official arts agency of the county is the private non-profit Arts Council of the Morris Area.

The Heritage Commission’s nine members are appointed by the Board of Chosen Freeholders and serve without compensation for five-year terms.

Mailing address: PO Box 900, Morristown, NJ 07963-0900
Offices: 30 East Hanover Avenue, Whippany, NJ 9 a.m. – 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. The Heritage Commission is open to researchers by appointment.
Contact us: [email protected] or see the Staff Directory for further information.